Bob Shacochis

BOB SHACOCHIS is a novelist, essayist, journalist, and educator. His work has received the National Book Award for First Fiction, the Rome Prize in Literature from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, and a National Endowment for the Arts Fellowship. He is the author of two short story collections (Easy in the Islands, The Next New World), a novel (Swimming in the Volcano, a finalist for the National Book Award), and a collection of essays about food and love (Domesticity). His book The Immaculate Invasion, about the 1994 military intervention in Haiti, was a finalist for the New Yorker Literary Awards for best nonfiction book of the year and was named a Notable Book of 1999 by The New York Times. His most recent novel, The Woman Who Lost Her Soul (Atlantic Monthly Press, 2013), received the Dayton Literary Peace Prize for Fiction and was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize. He is at work on a third novel, The Magnificence of Everything That Burns, the final novel in his Soufriere Trilogy. A former Peace Corps volunteer in the eastern Caribbean, Shacochis currently teaches in the graduate writing program at Florida State University. He lives in Florida and New Mexico.

If you purchase a festival ticket (on the SFLF website) that is INCLUSIVE of the author's featured book, you will receive that book upon check-in for that event at the festival.

If you purchase the book directly through Collected Works, your book will be available for pickup at 202 Galisteo St (inside the brick and mortar bookstore, including during the festival).

Kingdoms in the Air: Dispatches from the Far Away Cover Image
ISBN: 9780802126801
Availability: Available to Ship - Est. Delivery in 8-13 Business Days
Published: Grove Press - June 13th, 2017

Domesticity: A Gastronomic Interpretation of Love Cover Image
ISBN: 9781595341914
Availability: Available to Ship - Est. Delivery in 8-13 Business Days
Published: Trinity University Press - January 7th, 2014


Celebrating the power of story, the inaugural Santa Fe Literary Festival will be an unforgettable weekend dedicated to a shared love and language of ideas. Collected Works Bookstore is thrilled to be the official bookstore of the Festival. 

Bestselling, prizewinning authors and literary legends like Margaret Atwood, Joy Harjo, Colson Whitehead, Sandra Cisneros, John Grisham, amongst others, will headline the festival, discussing their work with readings and book signings that set the stage for further inspired conversations.

NOTE: If you purchase a festival event ticket that is INCLUSIVE of the author's book, you will receive that book upon check-in for your event at the festival.

To order books by festival authors directly from CW, see below. Collected Works will be carrying a wide selection of books by all participating authors available for online pre-order and at the on-site festival bookstore May 20-23.

Purchase your tickets from the SF Literary Festival website here.

Purchase your books by festival authors directly from CW below:

Margaret Atwood     Freddie Bitsoie     Sandra Cisneros

Lynn Cline     William deBuys     Ashley Ford

John Grisham     Roshi Joan Halifax     Joy Harjo

Anne Hillerman     Cheryl Alters Jamison     Craig Johnson

Asma Khan     Phil Klay      Jon Krakauer

Valeria Luiselli     Deborah Madison      Emily St. John Mandel

George R. R. Martin      James McGrath Morris     Sarit Packer and Itamar Srulovich of Honey & Co. 

Carmella Padilla     Douglas Preston     Kirstin Valdez Quade

Bob Shacochis     Henry Shukman     Hampton Sides

Bryant Terry     Darryl Lorenzo Wellington     Colson Whitehead

Don Winslow     Lawrence Wright