Bread Alone: A Novel (Paperback)

Bread Alone: A Novel By Judith R. Hendricks Cover Image

Bread Alone: A Novel (Paperback)

$15.99


Available to Ship - Est. Delivery in 8-13 Business Days

For fans of Like Water for Chocolate and Woman on Top comes a deliciously magical and mouth watering story, filled with wonder, discovery, and new beginnings.

Thirty-one-year-old Wynter Morrison long ago gave up on finding a suitable career and drifted into the role of trophy wife to an ambitious advertising executive. After her husband decides that their marriage was a mistake Wyn leaves behind her posh, pampered life and ventures north to Seattle, spending aimless hours sipping coffee at a local bakery. As the sweet aromas of freshly-baked bread awaken memories of her apprenticeship at a French boulangerie, she feels the desire and ambition to bake bread once again.

Soon, Wyn finds--in the kneading of the dough and the scent of yeast hanging in the air--an unexpected and wondrous healing power that helps her to rediscover that nothing stays the same. Inspiring and beautifully rendered, Bread Alone is an uplifting debut novel guaranteed to warm the heart.

A former journalist, copywriter, computer instructor, travel agent, waitress, and baker, Judith Ryan Hendricks is the author of three previous novels, including the bestseller Bread Alone. She and her husband live in New Mexico.

Product Details ISBN: 9780060084400
ISBN-10: 0060084405
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Publication Date: May 28th, 2002
Pages: 368
Language: English

“A charmingly romantic first novel…fun to read and meaningful to remember-no small feat.” — Booklist

“Engaging…Hendricks creates a compelling character whose wry, bemused and ultimately wise voice hooks the reader…a well written, imaginative debut.” — Publishers Weekly

The Inaugural Santa Fe Literary Festival was a huge success!

Collected Works was very proud to have been on-site all weekend as the official bookstore of the Santa Fe Festival. Bestselling, prizewinning authors and literary legends like Margaret Atwood, Joy Harjo, Colson Whitehead, Sandra Cisneros, Jon Krakauer, amongst others, spent time in our mini-bookstore in the lobby of the Convention Center and signed hundreds of books, which we now have in stock. So if you missed the festival but are looking for a signed copy of one of their books, please call us or come in to browse.

Purchase your books by festival authors directly from CW below:

Margaret AtwoodFreddie BitsoieSandra CisnerosLynn ClineWilliam deBuysAshley FordJohn GrishamRoshi Joan HalifaxJoy HarjoAnne HillermanCheryl Alters JamisonCraig JohnsonAsma KhanPhil KlayJon KrakauerValeria LuiselliDeborah MadisonEmily St. John MandelGeorge R. R. MartinJames McGrath MorrisSarit Packer and Itamar Srulovich of Honey & Co.Carmella Padilla   Douglas PrestonKirstin Valdez QuadeBob ShacochisHenry ShukmanHampton SidesBryant TerryDarryl Lorenzo WellingtonColson WhiteheadDon WinslowLawrence Wright