Never Been Kissed (Boy Meets Boy) (Paperback)

Never Been Kissed (Boy Meets Boy) By Timothy Janovsky Cover Image

Never Been Kissed (Boy Meets Boy) (Paperback)

$14.99


Available to Ship - Est. Delivery in 8-13 Business Days

Dear (never-been-quite-over-you) Crush,

It's been a few years since we were together,

but I can't stop thinking about the time we almost...

Wren Roland has never been kissed, but he wants that movie-perfect ending more than anything. Feeling nostalgic on the eve of his birthday, he sends emails to all the boys he (ahem) loved before he came out. Morning brings the inevitable Oh God What Did I Do?, but he brushes that panic aside. Why stress about it? None of his could-have-beens are actually going to read the emails, much less respond. Right?

Enter Derick Haverford, Wren's #1 pre-coming-out-crush and his drive-in theater's new social media intern. Everyone claims he's coasting on cinematic good looks and his father's connections, but Wren has always known there's much more to Derick than meets the eye. Too bad he doesn't feel the same way about the infamous almost-kiss that once rocked Wren's world.

Whatever. Wren's no longer a closeted teenager; he can survive this. But as their hazy summer becomes consumed with a special project that may just save the struggling drive-in for good, Wren and Derick are drawn ever-closer…and maybe, finally, Wren's dream of a perfect-kiss-before-the-credits is within reach.

A feel-good summer LGBTQIA+ New Adult RomCom, perfect for fans of Red White & Royal Blue, Boyfriend Material, and What If It's Us.

Timothy Janovsky is a queer, multidisciplinary storyteller from New Jersey. He holds a bachelor’s degree from Muhlenberg College and a self-appointed certificate in rom-com studies (accreditation pending). When he’s not daydreaming about young Hugh Grant, he’s telling jokes, playing characters, and writing books. He’s the author of Never Been Kissed and You’re a Mean One, Matthew Prince. Follow him on social media for more.

Product Details ISBN: 9781728250588
ISBN-10: 1728250587
Publisher: Sourcebooks Casablanca
Publication Date: May 3rd, 2022
Pages: 288
Language: English
Series: Boy Meets Boy

In his sweet and swoon-worthy first novel, Janovsky perfectly captures all the hope and heartache of first love while writing romantic banter worthy of Nora Ephron at her best. Janovsky also delivers a plucky plot that celebrates the power of movies in our lives and the old-fashioned magic of the drive-in theater. 



"Never Been Kissed is the kind of story that sweeps you into the nostalgia of sweet summer days, drive-in nights, and second chances at first loves. Equal parts a love story and a journey of queer self discovery, this was exactly the book I needed in my life. Sweet and sincere, nostalgic and hopeful, this is a romance that will be impossible to miss." — Laynie Rose Rizer, East City Bookshop



"A tribute to movies, drive-ins, and figuring out who you truly are, NEVER BEEN KISSED is a pitch-perfect second-chance summer romance. Watching Wren and Derick navigate their past and their present while fighting for their community and what they believe in will make you want to cheer. This book made my queer heart so very full and deeply happy: everything a rom-com should be." — Anita Kelly, author of Love & Other Disasters



"Janovsky's voice and Wren's character leap off every hilarious page in this fresh, sweet, and swoony love story that blends coming-of-age comedy with the nuances of exploring sexual identity. You will root for Wren and Derick to find each other as much as you root for Wren to find himself in this tender treasure of a book. Never Been Kissed has my whole heart!" — Alison Cochrun, author of The Charm Offensive



"NEVER BEEN KISSED is a wonderfully upbeat and sweet blend of self-discovery and second-chance romance. This book warmed my heart — I can't wait for readers to fall in love with Wren and Derick!" — Suzanne Park, author of LOATHE AT FIRST SIGHT and SO WE MEET AGAIN



"In this sparkling debut Janovsky offers a queer romance NA readers are going to gobble up. Its uplifting message of identity and belonging will resonate with readers of all ages, and the quirky nostalgia-filled setting is the perfect backdrop for all the first time falling in love feels, which lead to a stand-out swoon-worthy romance readers will want for their keeper shelves!" — Annabeth Albert, author of Conventionally Yours



""A joy-filled story about first love and finding yourself, Never Been Kissed is a nostalgic but still totally fresh read that’s full of heart. Wren is an absolutely adorable rom-com hero, and his movie references make this the perfect romance for film buffs." — Kerry Winfrey, author of Waiting for Tom Hanks" — Kerry Winfrey, author of Waiting for Tom Hanks



"A cinematic daydream guaranteed to steal your heart, Never Been Kissed is a delightful debut. The perfect balance of charm, swoons, and unforgettable laughs. Readers will be deeply in love with this second-chance romance!" — Julian Winters, award-winning author of Running With Lions



"An enchanting debut! Full of hope and heart, NEVER BEEN KISSED is a sweet second-chance romance that captivated me with its charming characters and delightfully cinematic setting." — Alexandria Bellefleur, author of Written in the Stars



"Never Been Kissed is an absolute delight! Wren is the hopelessly romantic film nerd I was missing from my life. I ached for him as he sussed out his dreams for his future, navigated his own sexuality, and blossomed into his first love. I caught myself cheering out loud for Wren and for Derick, gobbling up every word as fast as I could to get to their HEA. This story will thaw even the coldest heart and leave it with the warm fuzzies. A stellar debut from a fresh, new voice.” — Xio Axelrod, author of The Girl with Stars in Her Eyes



"An effervescent debut with an earnest heartbeat. Never Been Kissed blends a tender love story with cinematic nostalgia, full of pop culture references and unforgettable characters. I want to climb inside this book and see a movie at Wiley's — but because I sadly cannot, I'll settle for more clever, joyful romcoms by Timothy Janovsky.” — Rachel Lynn Solomon, author of The Ex Talk



"Janovsky captures, so poignantly, that feeling of figuring out who you are and where you belong (and who you belong with) that makes new adult romance so universally addictive. This sweet, heartfelt slow-burn smells like fresh cut grass and popcorn, sounds like the buzz of cicadas and the fizzle before a firework bangs. It feels like the long-awaited heat of your crush's breath across your collarbone. Never Been Kissed reminds you of that exhilarating time when firsts feel like forevers." — Ruby Barrett, author of Hot Copy

The Inaugural Santa Fe Literary Festival was a huge success!

Collected Works was very proud to have been on-site all weekend as the official bookstore of the Santa Fe Festival. Bestselling, prizewinning authors and literary legends like Margaret Atwood, Joy Harjo, Colson Whitehead, Sandra Cisneros, Jon Krakauer, amongst others, spent time in our mini-bookstore in the lobby of the Convention Center and signed hundreds of books, which we now have in stock. So if you missed the festival but are looking for a signed copy of one of their books, please call us or come in to browse.

Purchase your books by festival authors directly from CW below:

Margaret AtwoodFreddie BitsoieSandra CisnerosLynn ClineWilliam deBuysAshley FordJohn GrishamRoshi Joan HalifaxJoy HarjoAnne HillermanCheryl Alters JamisonCraig JohnsonAsma KhanPhil KlayJon KrakauerValeria LuiselliDeborah MadisonEmily St. John MandelGeorge R. R. MartinJames McGrath MorrisSarit Packer and Itamar Srulovich of Honey & Co.Carmella Padilla   Douglas PrestonKirstin Valdez QuadeBob ShacochisHenry ShukmanHampton SidesBryant TerryDarryl Lorenzo WellingtonColson WhiteheadDon WinslowLawrence Wright