The Archive of Alternate Endings (Kobo eBook)

The Archive of Alternate Endings By Lindsey Drager Cover Image
$9.99
Available Now

Description


Tracking the evolution of Hansel and Gretel at seventy-five-year intervals that correspond with earth’s visits by Halley’s Comet, The Archive of Alternate Endings explores how stories are disseminated and shared, edited and censored, voiced and left untold.

In 1456, Johannes Gutenberg’s sister uses the tale as a surrogate for sharing a family secret only her brother believes. In 1835, The Brothers Jacob and Wilhelm Grimm revise the tale to bury a truth about Jacob even he can’t come to face. In 1986, a folklore scholar and her brother come to find the record is wrong about the figurative witch in the woods, while in 2211, twin space probes aiming to find earth's sister planet disseminate the narrative in binary code. Breadcrumbing back in time from 2365 to 1378, siblings reimagine, reinvent, and recycle the narrative of Hansel and Gretel to articulate personal, regional, and ultimately cosmic experiences of tragedy.

Through a relay of speculative pieces that oscillate between eco-fiction and psychological horror, The Archive of Alternate Endings explores sibling love in the face of trauma over the course of a millennium, in the vein of Richard McGuire's Here and Lars von Trier's Melancholia.

Product Details
ISBN-13: 9781950539055
Publisher: Dzanc Books
Publication Date: May 6th, 2019
Language:

The Inaugural Santa Fe Literary Festival was a huge success!

Collected Works was very proud to have been on-site all weekend as the official bookstore of the Santa Fe Festival. Bestselling, prizewinning authors and literary legends like Margaret Atwood, Joy Harjo, Colson Whitehead, Sandra Cisneros, Jon Krakauer, amongst others, spent time in our mini-bookstore in the lobby of the Convention Center and signed hundreds of books, which we now have in stock. So if you missed the festival but are looking for a signed copy of one of their books, please call us or come in to browse.

Purchase your books by festival authors directly from CW below:

Margaret AtwoodFreddie BitsoieSandra CisnerosLynn ClineWilliam deBuysAshley FordJohn GrishamRoshi Joan HalifaxJoy HarjoAnne HillermanCheryl Alters JamisonCraig JohnsonAsma KhanPhil KlayJon KrakauerValeria LuiselliDeborah MadisonEmily St. John MandelGeorge R. R. MartinJames McGrath MorrisSarit Packer and Itamar Srulovich of Honey & Co.Carmella Padilla   Douglas PrestonKirstin Valdez QuadeBob ShacochisHenry ShukmanHampton SidesBryant TerryDarryl Lorenzo WellingtonColson WhiteheadDon WinslowLawrence Wright